Snippets from my diary; But eternity never finishes (my first free verse poem)

source: http://www.theispot.com/images/source/Jon_Krause__Prepartum_Depression.jpg

Here I am

Breaking apart inside,

Crying and sobbing,

Letting the nights pass by.

It keeps getting tougher every moment,

My mask seems to have worn out.

I can’t pretend anymore. I can’t laugh anymore.

I’m on the verge of tears,

The world is but a crowded room,

I’m shouting to be understood, screaming to be heard.

I seem to have lost my way, my fate seems to have faded away,

But no one appears to hear me, no one appears to want to try.

They’re all holding their own glasses of intoxication,

All wearing different masks, getting their own shares of intemperance.

Everyone’s dancing to their own tunes of self-empathy,

They seem to be deafened to others’ waves,

They seem to be dancing to their own rhythms,

Crushing me under their swinging steps.

And I lay on the floor, Limp, lifeless, broken apart,

Waiting for eternity to finish,

Knowing inside, Eternity never finishes…

*I’ve written various rhyming poems, this one is my first ever free verse poem.

4 thoughts on “Snippets from my diary; But eternity never finishes (my first free verse poem)

Leave a Reply

