Last Vacation Ever With Mom – Murree, 2010 (Pictures)

These pictures were taken during that trip, from a camera she had gifted me. Partly because photography seemed to take my mind away from the impending doom and partly because a part of me was still hopeful she’d live and we’d look back to these pictures and smile together. Soon after, she passed away (24th August, 2010) and I stopped taking pictures since my life had reduced to surviving every single breath. I had kept them in wraps since. Never showed them to anyone.

Rate this:

13th June, 2009 – exactly 8 years ago. The day my life changed forever and my little perfect family toppled upside-down. Breathless with agony. Screaming. Shouting. Shattered. In pieces. In ruins. The day my mother got diagnosed with cancer. And since then, my life has been the exact opposite of what it would have been otherwise. Since then, my life has been the furthest from normal.

A few months after she was diagnosed with breast cancer, it had spread to her liver. I wasn’t told that for a few days. By the time her liver cancer was diagnosed, it had advanced mightily and the medicines weren’t working on her any more. Having four doctors at home meant, they all knew what that meant; she only had a few weeks – months to live.

A trip to Murree was hence planned because everyone knew it would be her last trip with us. So Ma, Dad and most of the people I grew up with and considered family – we all went ahead with it. (May of 2010, if I recall correctly!)

These pictures were taken during that trip (from a camera she had gifted me). Partly because photography seemed to take my mind away from the impending doom and partly because a part of me was still hopeful she’d live and we’d look back at these pictures and smile at all the memories. Soon after, she passed away (24th August, 2010) and I stopped taking pictures since my life had reduced to surviving every single breath. I had kept them in wraps since. Never showed them to anyone.

I resumed photography in either 2015 or 2016. And I’m beyond glad I did.

These pictures carry a huge significance in my heart and for my soul, as does everything else about that trip. If I could make a treasure trove summarizing my entire existence they’d certainly make to it. 🙂

IMG_20170612_2IMG_20170612_3IMG_20170612_4IMG_20170612_5IMG_20170612_7IMG_20170612_8IMG_20170612_9IMG_20170612_10IMG_20170612_11IMG_20170612_12IMG_20170612_13

Yes, my obsession with clouds isn’t very recent.IMG_20170612_14IMG_20170612_15

13 thoughts on “Last Vacation Ever With Mom – Murree, 2010 (Pictures)

  1. I’m speechless / picture are so beautiful but memories for you evn more. But mom would be so glad that she left behind an amazing daughter. She loves you evn more , Rest in peace ~ prayers

  2. Wonderful to hear from you, Ayesha :)) These photos are beautiful!!! It looks much like where we went horseback riding today up in the mountains. The weather was very COLD!!! Low clouds and foggy mists serenaded us along the way, breaking into spectacular clear skies with outlying white and grey fluffy spires surrounding the peaks. The horses were wonderful. I rode Starboy, my husband rode Laddie, and our good friend rode Fae. Right now we have that special sense of wonder and accomplishment after an adventure on horseback into the back country :)) Hoping you are well, my friend across the world :)) Know that your mom LOVES you still, beyond time and space — and she’s still praying for you!!! Auntie Dawn

    https://soulhorseride.wordpress.com/2017/05/04/time-traveler/
    https://soulhorseride.wordpress.com/2016/04/22/laddie-light-my-fire/

    1. Oh, hiii!
      Long time, eh? How are you and your lovely horses?
      I will be checking your cheerful blog in a while.
      Thank you so much for such kind words.. The thought that she’s still praying for me gives me infinite strength!
      God bless! 💛

      1. Goodness yes :)) That’s the reason we can carry on. A wonderful book, Words at the Threshold, has given me fresh perspectives. It’s about the words spoken by people as they draw close to death. So many people experience visitations from loved ones, and experience peace. The author: Lisa Smartt, is a linguist and studies language. Thought provoking book! Good to hear from you :)) Best to you Ayesha :))

      2. Oh, that’s nice. Let me look that book up. Sometimes, some pieces of literature knock into us things we wouldn’t otherwise have knock into us.
        It’s always nice interacting with you. Always!
        Much love and prayers for you! 💛💛

  3. The old memories live for ever . My father who passed away in 1987 had given me a ‘ key ring ‘ ! That’s my most prized possession than even a 100 dollar ‘ key ring ‘ !

    1. Oh, I absolutely agree!
      They might be little things to the world but mean beyond what words can describe to those they belong.
      God bless your father, may his would R. I. P.!

      1. Hope to see you read my book : Journey from Guwahati to Machhiwara ; now in 17 countries , 132 libraries India , 3 in USA . Available worldwide on Amazon . Also on Amazon Kindle

  4. Now I have a better understanding of “how special Murree is” to you 🙂
    You have been incredibly brave!

    Lovely pictures 👍
    İs it all that difficult to post them with adequate space so that they don’t bunch up like a mosaic? 😠

    1. Apparently…it rendered as a mosaic (without space) in my mobile browser. But after reloading… It’s perfect 😀

      1. Thank you so much..! 🙏
        Yes, lots of memories from Murree.. Many childhood trips to hold on to, too!
        About the picture order.. Was confused why they’re appearing in mosaic order! :p

Leave a Reply

